Cepher Blog

Welcome to the Journey

Zaccheus in the Desert

Luke 19:2-4

“And behold, there was a man called by the name of Zaccheus; and he was a chief tax-gatherer, and he was rich. And he was trying to see who Y’shua was, and he was unable because of the crowd, for he was small in stature. And he ran on ahead and climbed up into a sycamore tree in order to see Him, for He was about to pass through that way.”

If you are aware of this story you know that Zaccheus went through a great deal of trouble to do something that Y’shua Messiah had probably already done for him. King Y’shua Messiah had every intention of seeing Zaccheus whether or not Zack climbed up a tree. We do the same thing every day when we toil and fret for things we think are so important including things that we believe God wants us to do without ever really knowing God at all.

I just got back from the desert where I have learned to go to spend some time with God completely one on one and it was Heaven! The new moon looked as if God was smiling and why not, His lost sheep had come home. I go to the desert for the solitude and the opportunity it awards me to spend uninterrupted time with God. I have found that no matter what I try to do at home to spend quality time with God it is nothing like the times in the desert. It gets me away from almost every man-made device except our van, my harmonica, a few cooking utensils, and just very little to get by on for a couple days and nights.

I have found that there are two types of people on this rock, those who give and those who take. Those who give, are those who take much less than they give, and the opposite is true for those who take. It is not a zero sum game, but those who give are prone to give it all as the widow of the story in Mark 12: 42 where she gave everything she had in the way of finances. Before I experienced Multiple Sclerosis I would push myself to the extreme in an attempt to do as much as was asked of me by others without regards to my own needs. Ultimately, that would lead to my frustration and contempt towards those who were asking for my assistance. Eventually, I found myself doing for, and giving to others reluctantly and without any regards as to whether God desired my assistance in a particular situation or not.

It wasn’t until I could no longer live in this fashion do to the disabilities of MS that I finally discovered that what I was really doing most of the time was trying to take the place of God by maintaining control over all that I could. By trying to fix everyone’s problems and keep peace inside my little world, I was simply getting in the way of God’s Work, which is to teach everyone who desires to Trust in God. From all that I have read and from all that I have experienced, I am convinced that we are on this earth to learn how to Trust in God. I am certain that every one of us would have eaten from the Tree of Knowledge had we had the chance, because we make that very same choice everyday whenever we do not Trust in God.

There is just something heavily spiritual in the desert to me that I find so appealing, and I am certainly not alone in this thought. For me it is the isolation and solitude that provides a type of quiet that I have not found anywhere else on earth, yet. Because of my MS I cannot spend any time in the desert from mid-May to October, and this year I hope to spend a great deal of that time with my mom and dad at the Central California Coast where they live in a nice trailer park in Arroyo Grande.

I am sharing this because I have found that taking time to replenish yourself is not just good for you, but it also helps all those that depend upon you. This post bounced around from thought to thought quite a bit because my ability to stay focused with MS is hampered so I apologize if it seemed jumbled. However, I believe it states exactly what message God desires for you. Believe it or not this post has taken me a week to write!

May God Bless you all and I hope to post again within the next week.

Filed under: Faith, Jehovah, King Y'shua, Trust, ,

One Response

  1. What a wonderful post. I read it out loud to my wife (who wonders why I keep wanting to go into the wilderness and who also seems to wonder if I’m the only one). I’m in Serbia, and we have no desserts, as far as I know, but I run off to the mountains or the river.
    Thanks for sharing!
    -Arie

Thank You!

